top of page

Nick Blanchette & Caleb Logan

Nick Blanchette and Caleb Logan, two people who changed my view on life forever.

In March of 2015, I learned that my high school cross-country rival was killed in a car accident. The thing that got me was the fact that he died in February of 2012. He had been dead for nearly three years without me knowing. It was ironic how bad his death affected me. I felt so empty. During high school, we loved to hate each other. Looking back, I wish I were a little nicer to him, but what could expect from two prideful sixteen year olds? We both pushed each other to our limits and beyond. He was the greatest rival I ever had. Now he’s gone. If I could go back in time, I would relive our junior year again and again. I miss you, Nick.

On the 1st of October 2015, I discovered that a YouTube star named, Caleb Logan, died. He was only 13 years old. What’s funny is that I didn’t know a thing about him, but his death still hit me tremendously hard. It was because of the fact that he reminded me of a certain character from my Son of Light books. This character was the same age as Caleb. I cried. Young Caleb had died in his sleep due to a heart condition. He had no idea that September 2015 would be his last month. He was so full of life and so kindhearted. He also reminded me of some of the kids I used to teach while I was a wrestling coach. He was the type of kid I wish I had as a little brother.

Nick and Caleb have taught me to enjoy my life. No longer am I worried about the meaningless things in life. My aim is to be happy. Today could be my last day. I could go to sleep and never wake up like Caleb, or I could die in a car accident like Nick. 2015 was a year that made me realize more than ever that I must enjoy my life. How ironic it is for a thing such as death forces us to realize how precious life is and yet we forget. Nick. Caleb. I will never forget.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page